Noah breaks things

Noah, my younger (22 month old) son breaks things!! I know that children break things but my older son, by the age of 3.5 years broke maybe 3-4 things. Noah’s count of broken items (if I was counting) would be easily in twenties or even higher. When he could walk steady on his feet, which was before his first birthday, he would pick glasses from tables or on tippy toes swipe kitchen worktops, smashing cups and bowls. It was happening so often that I finally learnt to reduce his breaking rate down and now it only happens once a week! The last two weeks he “chose” Friday or more probably caught me off guard after a long and tiring week, and here is this week’s casualty:

jar of salt

A jar of sea salt.

I just wish I wasn’t getting so worked up about it, he doesn’t do it on purpose anymore (unless he’s very sneaky about it) and he even says “ohhh nooo!”, though I think that I’m actually getting annoyed with myself for not preventing it from happening. At least it’s nothing really valuable, though smashed glass full of sticky salt makes A LOT of mess.

Keeping on “the children” subject but in a different direction… I do love when children discover and learn new things and then try to put it into words, and today Jonah came to me and said:

J: “Mummy, did YOU built our house?”

Me: “No, mummy and daddy bought it”

J: “Umm… Did you bring it here in a car?”

Me: “No, a group of people built this house here and then we came and bought it.”

J: “Oh, it’s called the earth, where the house stands on top of! ……. isn’t it?”

It’s nice to see that they find simple things as intriguing as last week’s “I wonder if the moon is hot or cold” :)

Have a nice weekend!

Leave a Reply

